Shaun Mccran

My digital playground

16
M
A
R
2012

Vodafone Sure Signal review

A product I'd been vaguely aware of, but have since discovered a lot more about is the Vodafone Sure Signal box.

This little white box uses your home broadband to create a 3G bubble in your own home. It is basically a mini, private 3G mast.

The device itself is based on a technology called Femtocell. In layman's terms this provides a way of utilising your home broadband and converting it into a mobile network connection, IE 3G.

Out of the box

Out of the box the device is a smart, small white square. It is barely bigger than an A5 notebook, approximately 7inches square so it doesn't take up much room.

As you can see from the picture below there are very few connections on the device itself, making the setup a bit of a no-brain process. Plugin the power lead, plug the Ethernet lead directly into your router and you are done on the hardware front. If you don't have a router you can plug it directly into your home PC and share its internet connection directly.

The slightly more complicated part comes when you want to setup the software. You don't manage the device on any sort of management software layer, you have to login to the Vodafone website (www.vodafone.co.uk/suresignal) and manually add the mobile numbers you want to allow access to the sure signal box. It's easily done and you can add and remove users whenever you want.

Vodafone only

As indicated by the title of this article this is a Vodafone specific product. During the user registration you have to specify Vodafone mobile number, and to login you have to have a Vodafone account so it is all tied in. That wasn't an issue for me as I have multiple Vodafone contracts (even my Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 is now registered on the Sure Signal box) but if you are with a different mobile operator then you are out of luck. I read an article recently saying that O2 and Orange had previously investigated this sort of technology but no plans to roll out any comparable devices.

Conclusion

Setup was quick and easy, within twenty minutes everything was plugged in and working and the Sure Signal box had configured itself. There were no issues at all with getting it to work. My simple test to check that it was working was to enable and disable Wifi on my Galaxy Nexus mobile. With Wifi on the Sure Signal showed no connections to it, turn off Wifi and within a few seconds it shows network activity.

Mobile surfing is very snappy as well. I haven't run a speed test over the 3G signal yet but webpages load within a few second, and call quality is even and consistent. If anything its lost that slight crackle I was used to on three bars of reception.

There is a full description of Femtocell technology here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Femtocell

If you live in a rural connection or just generally have a mobile signal then this is definitely the device for you.

TweetBacks
Comments (Comment Moderation is enabled. Your comment will not appear until approved.)
jeni's Gravatar <a href="http://www.cashinyourgadgets.co.uk/gadget-library/... my laptop</a> : Find out how much you could earn for your old laptop with Cash in your Gadgets.
# Posted By jeni | 23/06/15 00:11
Paul's Gravatar Vodafone is one of the best network carriers and I think so many people have been using this network. This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine review regarding Vodafone signal. Thank you very much! http://www.originalorkopina.com
# Posted By Paul | 20/07/15 21:00
adsf's Gravatar nice
# Posted By adsf | 30/09/15 01:00
Swati kumari's Gravatar The article is fantastic. I enjoy a lot while reading. Keep on sharing such innovative and interesting blogs with us.
movers and packers in delhi @ http://ezmove.in/packers-and-movers-delhi.html
packers and movers in navi mumbai @ http://ezmove.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
movers and packers in mumbai @ http://ezmove.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai.html
movers and packers in pune @ http://ezmove.in/packers-and-movers-pune.html
movers and packers in hyderabad @ http://ezmove.in/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.html...
# Posted By Swati kumari | 01/10/15 02:01
dr david caminer 332 crown street, wollongong nsw 's Gravatar I think so many people have been using this network. This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine review regarding Vodafone signal. Thank you very much!
fees's Gravatar I simply want to tell you that I am new to weblog and definitely liked this blog site. I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By fees | 04/10/15 00:26
Gemini's Gravatar I wanna see more essay writing websites like this http://www.myeditingandwritingservices.com/ online paper writing blog. These are really helpful to every new blog writer and content writer. So, I am thankful to share articles with all the users.
# Posted By Gemini | 05/10/15 03:53
buy traffic's Gravatar I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By buy traffic | 05/10/15 23:15
cccam server's Gravatar I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By cccam server | 06/10/15 22:42
cccam server's Gravatar Vodafone is one of the best network carriers and I think so many people have been using this network.
# Posted By cccam server | 07/10/15 01:09
cardsharing's Gravatar Vodafone is one of the best network carriers and I think so many people have been using this network. This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine..
# Posted By cardsharing | 08/10/15 03:01
car rental jaipur to delhi's Gravatar eblog and definitely liked this blog site. I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By car rental jaipur to delhi | 11/10/15 00:52
Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney's Gravatar I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney | 14/10/15 00:32
weight loss plan's Gravatar The device itself is based on a technology called Femtocell. In layman's terms this provides a way of utilising your home broadband and converting it into a mobile network connection, IE 3G.
# Posted By weight loss plan | 16/10/15 23:25
semantic seo services's Gravatar I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By semantic seo services | 19/10/15 23:41
# Posted By Raghav Singh | 24/10/15 04:01
Injustice Cheats's Gravatar The device itself is based on a technology called Femtocell. In layman's terms this provides a way of utilising your home broadband and converting it into a mobile network connection, IE 3G.
# Posted By Injustice Cheats | 26/10/15 23:29
purchase website traffic's Gravatar The device itself is based on a technology called Femtocell. In layman's terms this provides a way of utilising your home broadband and converting it into a mobile network connection, IE 3G.
# Posted By purchase website traffic | 01/11/15 13:06
garcinia cambogia extract's Gravatar In layman's terms this provides a way of utilising your home broadband and converting it into a mobile network connection, IE 3G.
# Posted By garcinia cambogia extract | 02/11/15 22:26
bike transport pune's Gravatar I think so many people have been using this network. This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine..
# Posted By bike transport pune | 08/11/15 22:51
bed bugs picture's Gravatar I have been meaning to write something like this on my website and you have given me an idea.
# Posted By bed bugs picture | 15/11/15 22:04
Google voice numbers's Gravatar education and school students education. So, we are all happy to choose information from this blog.
# Posted By Google voice numbers | 18/11/15 01:06
# Posted By buy5th | 18/11/15 03:02
fiverr blog commenting's Gravatar access to the sure signal box. It's easily done and you can add and remove users whenever you want.
# Posted By fiverr blog commenting | 22/11/15 22:47
Emergency Plumber's Gravatar I think so many people have been using this network. This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine review regarding Vodafone signal. Thank you very much!
# Posted By Emergency Plumber | 22/11/15 23:42
best wireless earbuds 2015's Gravatar This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine..
# Posted By best wireless earbuds 2015 | 23/11/15 01:52
http://www.beartarot.com's Gravatar I think so many people have been using this network. This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine review regarding Vodafone signal. Thank you very much!
# Posted By http://www.beartarot.com | 25/11/15 07:44
Kelowna Home Inspectors's Gravatar Because the content is owned mangosteen peel is needed by the human body.
# Posted By Kelowna Home Inspectors | 25/11/15 22:51
places to visit in ajmer's Gravatar This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine review regarding Vodafone signal. Thank you very much!
# Posted By places to visit in ajmer | 29/11/15 23:45
blog commenting's Gravatar O2 and Orange had previously investigated this sort of technology but no plans to roll out any comparable devices.
# Posted By blog commenting | 03/12/15 02:53
fibromyalgia symptoms and treatment's Gravatar This post is really helpful to me getting a genuine review regarding Vodafone signal. Thank you very much!
# Posted By fibromyalgia symptoms and treatment | 04/12/15 01:49
Merry Smith's Gravatar I really appreciate your hard working because you did really well work. About Vodafone Sure Signal just i say as compared to others really great services. Buy today at wholesale price stylish Grass Mesh from our website http://groundreinforcementmeshuk.co.uk/grass-mats....
# Posted By Merry Smith | 04/12/15 04:14
loan calculator's Gravatar It is barely bigger than an A5 notebook, approximately 7inches square so it doesn't take up much room.
# Posted By loan calculator | 13/12/15 23:08
compare car insurance rates's Gravatar It is a great website and nice share. I want to thank you. Good job! You guys do a great blog, and have some great contents. Keep up the good work!
# Posted By compare car insurance rates | 14/12/15 21:34
auto facebook likes's Gravatar Thanks for this article very helpful. thanks.
# Posted By auto facebook likes | 14/12/15 23:41
bot views youtube's Gravatar Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. Each & every tips of your post are awesome. Thanks a lot for sharing. Keep blogging,
# Posted By bot views youtube | 14/12/15 23:43
werkbladen's Gravatar Computers themselves, and software yet to be developed, will revolutionize the way we learn.
# Posted By werkbladen | 18/12/15 21:04
Packers and Movers Pune's Gravatar How do you make this kind of article, this was not just detailed it is also resourceful.
Packers and Movers Chennai @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-chennai...
Packers and Movers Thane @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-thane/
Packers and Movers Navi Mumbai @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-navimum...
Packers and Movers Faridabad @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-faridab...
Packers and Movers Ghaziabad @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-ghaziab...
# Posted By Packers and Movers Pune | 21/12/15 02:09
Packers and Movers Hyderabad's Gravatar I love this post. Keep on posting more like this.
Packers and Movers Gurgaon @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-gurgaon...
Packers and Movers Bangalore @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-bangalo...
Packers and Movers Delhi @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-delhi/
Packers and Movers Noida @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-noida/
# Posted By Packers and Movers Hyderabad | 21/12/15 02:10
Packers and Movers Bangalore's Gravatar Very well written and explained. Enjoyed reading - Please visit for More information about -
Packers and Movers Pune @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-pune/
Packers and Movers Hyderabad @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-hyderab...
Packers and Movers Mumbai @
http://www.expert5th.in/packers-and-movers-mumbai/...
# Posted By Packers and Movers Bangalore | 21/12/15 02:10
places to visit in ajmer's Gravatar he president Barak Obama visited dillingham and bristol bay in few weeks ago. From the eye of the development of the bristol bay
# Posted By places to visit in ajmer | 21/12/15 05:20
cccam server's Gravatar Excellent article. Very interesting to read. I really love to read such a nice article..
# Posted By cccam server | 21/12/15 23:29
Medical Coder's Gravatar I basically need to tell you that I am new to weblog and absolutely delighted in this site page...
# Posted By Medical Coder | 22/12/15 21:19
delhi to jaipur cab's Gravatar tell you that I am new to weblog and absolutely delighted in this site page...
# Posted By delhi to jaipur cab | 23/12/15 03:51
clash of clans tool . how to hack castle clash's Gravatar The slightly more complicated part comes when you want to setup the software. You don't manage the device on any sort of management software layer,
packersmove's Gravatar Do you ever think why individuals have been moving themselves starting with one place then onto the next?

The response to the aforementioned inquiry would lie in the brains of the individuals who have had an awesome migration involvement with an expert mover and packer. There are various people that are very nearly moving their homes starting with one destination then onto the next. Why do they move? All things considered, there can be a lot of reasons that to a great extent compensate for the reality why the people take a choice to move their whole homes. A standout amongst the most threadbare reasons would be that the world has been unfavorably influenced by the monetary downturn. Subsequently, numerous have lost their employments and they have made up their psyches to move to an alternate area with the goal that they can acquire their occupation.
visit-
Packers and Movers in Kolkata @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-kolk...
Packers and Movers in Noida @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-noid...
Packers and Movers in Gurgaon @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-gurg...
Packers and Movers in Ghaziabd @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-ghaz...
Packers and Movers in Hyderabad @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-hyde...
Packers and Movers in Delhi @http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-delh...
# Posted By packersmove | 08/01/16 00:48
keramiek tafelblad's Gravatar Thank you for the work you have put into your nice blog. We will bookmark to your blog because it is very informational. We love the site and will come back to see your new posts.
# Posted By keramiek tafelblad | 08/01/16 22:26
web traffic's Gravatar I think this is one of the most significant information for me.And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is ideal, the articles is really excellent...
# Posted By web traffic | 09/01/16 21:34
real estate's Gravatar Very useful post. This is my first time i visit here. I found so many interesting stuff in your blog especially its discussion. Really its great article.
# Posted By real estate | 13/01/16 02:42
Reliable Packers and Movers in India's Gravatar Packers and movers services in Hyderabad @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-hyderabad.php" target="_blank">http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-hyde...
Packers and movers services in Mumbai @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-mumbai.php" target="_blank">http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-mumb...
Reliable packers and movers in India @ http://www.packersmove.com/
Packers and Movers in Gurgaon @ http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-gurgaon.php" target="_blank">http://www.packersmove.com/packers-and-movers-gurg...
# Posted By Reliable Packers and Movers in India | 14/01/16 01:07
# Posted By Packers and movers | 18/01/16 22:53
how to gain instagram followers ! likes for instag's Gravatar I haven't run a speed test over the 3G signal yet but webpages load within a few second, and call quality is even and consistent.
Back to top